Our City is governed by Aldermanic Form and a Mayor.  The Mayor and City Clerk are the chief executive officers, and the Aldermen are the legislative body.  The City Clerk is the keeper of the records.  The Mayor and Aldermen are all elected to four-year terms.  Local elections are held every two years in the spring.
City meetings are held in the City Hall which is located at 201 S Michigan Ave.  Regular Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Monday of each month at 6:30 pm.  Exceptions are holidays and other special circumstances.  An annual meeting schedule is posted at City Hall.  These meetings are open to the public and all residents are encouraged to attend.  If you have a concern, it may be placed on the agenda by calling the City Clerk’s office at (217) 826-8087.
All meeting agendas are posted at City Hall at least 48hrs in advance of the meeting.
City Hall hours are Monday through Friday 7:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
We are located at 201 South Michigan Ave. Information may be mailed to City Hall at P.O. Box 298.
Our phone number is (217) 826-8087 and our fax number is (217) 826-2949.

Mayor and City Council Members

John Trefz, Mayor Term Expires: 2021

Nancy Smitley (City Clerk)

Larry Woodard (City Treasurer)

Wendy Tharp, Alderman Ward 1 Term Expires: 2021

John Hasten, Alderman Ward 1 Term Expires: 2023

Vickie Wallace, Alderman Ward 2 Term Expires: 2021

Michael Smitley, Alderman Ward 2 Term Expires: 2023

Jarod Green, Alderman Ward 3 Term Expires: 2021

Warren LeFever, Alderman Ward 3 Term Expires: 2023

Josh Sanders, Alderman Ward 4 Term Expires: 2023

Ed Pearce, Alderman Ward 4 Term Expires: 2021